Images showing sequence of biobanking activity

An Interactive Online Conference Series on

‘Sourcing Biospecimens for Industry R&D’

Summary

This interactive online conference series is focused entirely on challenges and solutions in the ethical sourcing of biospecimens by industry researchers, and is the first of its kind.

Each part of the conference series will feature webinars, panel discussions, roundtable discussions, and virtual exhibit booths. Part 1 is on Tuesday 25th October, then parts 2 and 3 follow at intervals of a few weeks. The conference will be held using the Zoom Events platform and the recordings of webinars and meetings will be available to view for up to one month after the event.

Zoom Expo

We are using Zoom Expo for Exhibitor Booths, Roundtable Discussions, and general networking. This video explains more …

Sponsorship Opportunities

There are sponsorship opportunities for this conference series at 3 levels: Bronze, Silver, and Gold.

Speakers include:

  • Clare Allocca, Senior Advisor for Planning and Outreach at National Institute of Standards and Technology (NIST), MD, USA
  • Valentina Colcelli, Researcher at National Research Council (Italy), Institute CNR-IFAC, Tuscany, Italy
  • Jennifer Byrne, Director of Biobanking at NSW Health Pathology, Professor at The University of Sydney
  • Carol Weil, Consultant, Human Research Protections and Bioethics, Bethesda, MD, USA
  • Nicole Bjorklund, Director, Translational Research & Development at Cohen Veterans Bioscience, New York, USA
  • Donna Wren, Associate General Counsel, Transactions at Synthego Corporation, PA, USA
  • Eric Robinet, Founder and President of Lymphobank, Besançon, France
  • Isabel Novoa Garcia, Director, Vall d’Hebron Institute of Research (VHIR) Biobank, Barcelona, Spain
  • Adaeze (Odili) Oreh, Country Director of Planning, Research, and Statistics at National Blood Service Commission, Nigeria
  • Georges Dagher, Visiting Professor at Università degli Studi di Milano-Bicocca
  • Daniel Uribe, CEO of GenoBank.io, Palo Alto, CA, USA
  • Chon Boon ENG, Director, NUH Tissue Repository and Hospital-based Cancer Registry, Singapore
  • Constantinos Deltas, Professor of Genetics, University of Cyprus Medical School, Cyprus
  • Joseph Mfutso Bengo, Professor of Bioethics, Dept. of Health Systems and Policy, University of Malawi
  • Christina Mullins, Arbeitsgruppenleiterin AG Patient Models for Precision Medicine, Rostock, Germany
  • Warren Fransman, Senior Manager of the FIND Specimen Bank, Cape Town, S. Africa
  • Anna Codina Bergadà, Bióloga en Hospital Sant Joan de Déu, Barcelona, Spain
  • Jenny Pham, Program Director, Biorepository & Laboratory Services,Clinical and Translational Science Institute, University of Minnesota
  • Séverine Tabone-Eglinger, Directrice Scientifique et Référente RGPD,Centre Léon Bérard, Lyon, France

Part 1 – Tuesday, October 25

Session 1. Regulations on import and export of samples
  • Starts: 12:30 BST, 13:30 CEST, 17:00 IST
  • Speakers include Valentina Colcelli, and Anna Codina Bergada
Session 2. Networking Activities
  • Starts: 9:30 EDT, 14:30 BST, 15:30 CEST
  • Round-table discussions and virtual exhibition booths
Session 3. Biobank quality standards
  • Starts: 8:00 PDT, 11:00 EDT, 16:00 BST, 17:00CEST
  • Speakers include Georges Dagher, Clare Allocca, and Nicole Bjorklund

Part 2 – Thursday, November 24

Session 1. Access to samples from Africa
  • Starts: 12:30 BST, 13:30 CEST, 17:00 IST
  • Speakers include: Joseph Mfutso Bengo, and Adaeze (Odili) Oreh
Session 2. Networking Activities
  • Starts: 9:30 EDT, 14:30 BST, 15:30 CEST
  • Round-table discussions and virtual exhibition booths
Session 3. Access to samples from patients with tropical diseases
  • Starts: 8:00 PDT, 11:00 EDT, 16:00 BST, 17:00CEST
  • Speakers include: Warren Fransman

Part 3 – Thursday, December 15

Session 1. Material Transfer Agreements
  • Starts: 12:30 BST, 13:30 CEST, 17:00 IST
  • Speakers include: Donna Wren
Session 2. Networking Activities
  • Starts: 9:30 EDT, 14:30 BST, 15:30 CEST
  • Round-table discussions and virtual exhibition booths
Session 3. Cost recovery models for biospecimen provision
  • Starts: 8:00 PDT, 11:00 EDT, 16:00 BST, 17:00CEST
  • Speakers include: Isabel Novoa Garcia

Parts 4, 5 and 6 will follow in 2023

Topics will include:

  • Standard operating procedures to ensure reproducibility
  • Ethical issues in sample procurement by industry
  • Factors that may affect sample delivery time
  • Logistics of sample collection in a hospital setting
  • Procurement of fresh viable tissue
  • The value of non-fungible tokens (NFTs)
  • What kinds of clinical data can be provided routinely?
  • Success stories in biobank collaboration with industry

Have Your Say!

Help us to plan the content of future conferences. Tell us what you want to hear about and discuss by taking this simple 2-minute survey:

https://www.surveymonkey.co.uk/r/Y3HNR6R

Stay Up-To-Date!

Enter your details here to receive updates on this conference series.